“We read to know we are not alone” (CS Lewis)

Image

My first blog post: where I’ll try & give an idea of what I hope to do. I want to write about the books I’ve read and the life that’s led around, above and between those books and hopefully be entertaining along the way (this may involve some tactical embellishment on the life part.  Me on the sofa with a book in hand, cat on my lap, and Diagnosis Murder re-runs in the background is my ideal afternoon, but not that interesting to others, for reasons that I respect but don’t entirely fathom.  Incidentally, I’m not 108 years old.  Only in spirit, as I’m sure you’ve guessed by now.) I hope to give you some ideas about books to read, (and for you to return the favour) and remind you of books you’ve read & what they mean to you.   I’m not going to critique books or provide piercing insights (although I keep my fingers crossed that some will battle their way through my limited intellect onto these pages) but more take a personal look at books in a way that I hope resonates with you, fellow book lover.  I hope to provide my first proper post in the next few days, in the meantime here is a photo of one of the most beautiful libraries in the world – the Radcliffe Camera in Oxford.  I don’t know who the man on the steps is but I hope he found the book he was looking for.

Leave a Reply

