The Murder of Roger Ackroyd – Agatha Christie (Le Monde’s 100 Books of the Century #49)

This is part of a series of occasional posts where I look at works from Le Monde’s 100 Books of the Century. Please see the separate page (link at the top) for the full list of books and an explanation of why I would do such a thing.

The great thing about this reading challenge, and the very reason I set myself to do it, is that it means I read books I wouldn’t have normally. Usually this is because I hadn’t heard of them, but in the case of The Murder of Roger Ackroyd, it was because I thought I didn’t like Agatha Christie. I spent a summer when I was about 14 reading a Poirot omnibus, and I thought it was poorly written, with thin plots, shallow characterisation and an annoying central protagonist (I believe Christie shared this opinion of Poirot!) Despite a general love of the Golden Age of Detective Fiction, I haven’t picked up a Christie since. So I owe Le Monde (and the attractive bookseller who assured me it was the best of the Poirot novels – how I miss you, Blackwells) a great deal of thanks, because I really enjoyed The Murder of Roger Ackroyd.

001 (5)

(Image from: http://www.pinterest.com/pin/249316529344895760/)

The story is narrated by Dr James Sheppard, the village GP who lives with his nosy sister, the character of whom was a prototype of Miss Marple.

“Our village. King’s Abbot, is, I imagine, very much like any other village. Our big town is Cranchester, nine miles away. We have a large railway station, a small post office, and two rival ‘General Stores.’ Able-bodied men are apt to leave the place early in life, but we are rich in unmarried ladies and retired military officers. Our hobbies and recreations can be summed up in the one word, ‘gossip.’”

Within this inter-war bucolic tranquility, Sheppard is called to the suicide of Mrs Ferrars, a wealthy widow who was engaged to the eponymous victim. She sent Ackroyd a letter explaining she was being blackmailed over the poisoning of her first husband, but Ackroyd is murdered before he finds out who the blackmailer was. Enter a certain Belgian detective to solve the crime. He is Sheppard’s new neighbour, and they meet when Poirot hurls a vegetable marrow over the garden fence:

“’I demand of you a thousand pardons, monsieur. I am without defence. For some months now I cultivate the marrows. This morning suddenly I enrage myself with these marrows. I send them to promenade themselves – alas! not only mentally but physically. I seize the biggest. I hurl him over the wall. Monsieur, I am ashamed. I prostrate myself.’

Before such profuse apologies, my anger was forced to melt. After all, the wretched vegetable hadn’t hit me. But I sincerely hoped that throwing large vegetables over walls was not our new friend’s hobby.”

From this unpromising beginning, the two team up to catch the murderer. It’s difficult to say any more without spoilers, but I thought the novel was good fun (as the marrow scene shows), well-paced (only 235 pages in my edition) and confidently knowing:

“’The essence of a detective story,’ I said, ‘is to have a rare poison – if possible something from South America, that nobody has ever heard of- something that one obscure tribe … use to poison their arrows with. Death is instantaneous, and Western science is powerless to detect it.Is that the kind of thing you mean?’

‘Yes. Is there really such a thing?’

I shook my head regretfully.”

Amongst this levity however, there is a dark undertone – someone has been murdered, after all. And although Christie’s novels are not brutal and bloody (this was published in 1926) she does not let reader forget the inhumanity people are capable of displaying toward each other. The ending of the novel was really quite dark, and I thought it all rather wonderful.

One of Christie’s great achievements in the novel is how she distinctive she makes the voice of Poirot; it captures his unique personality perfectly. Here, David Suchet, who has filmed all the Poirot novels for television, explains how he achieves Poirot’s voice:

10 thoughts on “The Murder of Roger Ackroyd – Agatha Christie (Le Monde’s 100 Books of the Century #49)

  1. Since my cats are called after two of Christie’s detectives – Tommy and Tuppence – you can probably guess I’m a fan, so delighted to hear you enjoyed this one. But the best Christie? Hmm…I’d give that accolade to The Moving Finger…

    Like

  2. Funny – I also thought that I didn’t like Agatha Christie. But I hadn’t actually read any of her work when I thought that. I was just being an a-hole. I took the Christie plunge a couple of years ago and I am completely obsessed. The Murder of Roger Ackroyd is a masterpiece. Have you read And Then There Were None?? That’s another amazing one. I love Poirot but Miss Marple will always be my favourite. Great post!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love Christie but she is very uneven – some excellent ones, some pretty poor – I’d avoid those written around the sixties in general. ‘Roger Ackroyd’ is one of the outstanding ones – I remember being completely taken aback by the ending but, of course, on re-reading it all the clues were there. There’s one set in Ancient Egypt called, I think, ‘Death Comes As the End’ which is very good too as is ‘Crooked House’. Oh, and ‘Endless Night’.

    If you like the David Suchet Poiret look out for the Miss Marple series done around the same time with a similar attention to high production values and attention to period detail. Joan Hickson absolutely nails it – the later remakes are complete travesties.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks for the tip – I’m very behind on my Christie reading – I’ll try the titles you suggest 🙂

      I absolutely adore the Joan Hickson Marples, I’ve seen them all countless times – I gave up on the more recent ones after they completely messed up 4.50 from Paddington. Travesties indeed!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

