“You are a lost generation.” (Gertrude Stein to Ernest Hemingway, 1920)

Miracle of miracles, I have managed to join in with the 1920 Club, hosted by Karen at Kaggsy’s Bookish Ramblings and Simon at Stuck in a Book. My reading capacity is still not great due to all that’s happening in the world and my work remains manic, so I thought I might not make it, but here we go on it’s final day: a hastily written and fairly incoherent contribution from me 😊

Firstly, Queen Lucia by EF Benson, the first in his hugely popular Mapp and Lucia series. Back when we were allowed in bookshops, I’d picked up a lovely box set of the first three novels from my favourite charity bookshop so I’m glad the 1920 Club gave me an incentive to get started.

We meet Emmeline Lucas arriving back in her home of Riseholme from London, and deciding to send her fly on ahead with her luggage, in order to cause a stir amongst her neighbours:

“dramatic instincts that formed so large a part of her mentality, and made her always take by right divine, the leading part in the histrionic entertainments with which the cultured of Riseholme beguiled, or rather strenuously occupied, such moments that could be spared from their studies of art and literature, and their social engagements.”

Immediately we know all we need to know: nothing happens in Riseholme, and Lucia is the centre of nothing happening.

“Mrs Lucas amused herself, in the intervals of her pursuit of Art for Art’s sake, with being not only an ambassador but a monarch…Mrs Lucas, busy and serene, worked harder than any of subjects, and exercised control that was both popular and autocratic.”

Lucia is an unmitigated snob with pretensions of cultured appreciation: she is called Lucia in deference to her constantly peppering her talk with Italian phrases, a language she doesn’t speak; she names the rooms in her house after Shakespeare plays; she visibly winces at what she perceives to be poorly played music, in order to demonstrate her delicate sensibilities to her audience.

Lucia is of course, completely clueless. She is bourgeois and has no appreciation of art except in using it to structure her own artifice for the other equally clueless inhabitants of Riseholme. Her neighbours are both in thrall to her and object to her unchallenged reign. Georgie is her BFF  who resents and adores Lucia (Benson can’t say he’s gay but devotes a good paragraph to explaining why there is no romantic interest between them); Mrs Daisy Quantock her frenemy and rival for being the epicentre of whatever the next Big Thing in Riseholme will be.

“the hours of the morning between breakfast and lunch were the times which the inhabitants of Riseholme chiefly devoted to spying on each other. They went about from shop to shop on household business, occasionally making purchases which they carried away with them in little paper parcels with convenient loops of string, but the real object of those excursions was to see what everybody else was doing, and learn what fresh interests had sprung up like mushrooms during the night.”

The plot is slight, as it’s meant to be, I think; Benson is showing the intrigues of an entirely ordinary, respectable English village. Daisy and Lucia jostle for the favour of a Guru, later Lucia is nearly dethroned when a genuine prima donna buys a holiday home in the village.

When the guru first made an appearance, my heart sank, expecting casual racism in spades. While there is undoubtedly some of that present, my sense on reading the novel was the portrayal was supposed to play to stereotypes. Without giving away spoilers, I think I was right, and what is being satirised is the ignorance of Riseholme residents.

Although the portrayal of Lucia and her acolytes is clear-sighted and relentless, it’s not cruel. Benson exposes their pretentions but he never leaves his characters devastated, only slightly chastened and all to quick to bounce back into their risible ways. This is gentle, genteel comedy and it’s never unkind.

I can’t say I found Queen Lucia laugh-out-loud funny, but I know fans of the series think the later books are better. It certainly raised a smile, had wonderful characterisation and provided some much-needed escapism during these troubled times.

The BBC adapted Mapp and Lucia in 2014. I’m not entirely convinced from this trailer, although Steve Pemberton looks perfectly cast as Georgie:

 

Secondly, as a big fan of Golden Age detective fiction, I have to include some as 1920 was a significant year in the genre, when Agatha Christie published Poirot’s first outing The Mysterious Affair at Styles. From the reviews I’ve read from other bloggers joining in with the 1920 Club it sounds a great read which I’ll definitely be catching up on. Another GA title from this year which I’ve chosen for this post is Freeman Wills Croft’s first novel, The Cask. You can read it in full here.

It begins with the titular cask arriving in London on a steamer. As a Londoner I enjoyed the description of the working docks, a time long gone:

“His goal was St. Katherine’s Docks, where the Bullfinch was berthed, and, passing across Tower Hill and round two sides of the grim old fortress, he pushed on till he reached the basin in which the steamer was lying. She was a long and rather low vessel of some 800 tons burden, with engines amidships, and a single black funnel ornamented with the two green bands that marked the Company’s boats. Recently out from her annual overhaul, she looked trim and clean in her new coat of black paint.”

Very different now, when it’s all massively overpriced flats and restaurants:

Image from Wikimedia Commons

The cask is discovered to hold gold sovereigns and a human hand. Broughton, the clerk from the shipping company sent to check some cargo for a fussy client, seemed to me to have rather a cavalier attitude towards the grisly contents:

“That a serious crime had been committed he felt sure, and that it was his duty to report his discovery immediately he was no less certain. But there was the question of the consignment of wines.”

All the same, it’s not long before Inspector Burnley of Scotland Yard is on the trail. The first seven chapters depict a farcical chase around London after the extraordinarily well-travelled cask, before it is finally found and the murder victim therein exposed.

Burnley has to travel to France to investigate further, which I found rather glamorous considering it took a whole day, two trains and a ferry to get to Paris. There are also trips to Belgium and to Glasgow as Burnley and his French counterpart Inspector Lefarge piece together the activities of the titular container.

Despite it being an early title in the genre, there’s still some GA tropes to enjoy in this novel, including a diagram in Chapter VI of something I’m not sure really needed elucidating, but I’m very fond of maps and room plans in GA crime so I welcomed it nonetheless:

Blessedly, there aren’t too may of the prejudices often found in GA crime, despite my fears when the French setting became apparent. But Burnley likes France and is friends with Lafarge, which was a pleasant surprise. The working classes however, are somewhat colourfully portrayed:

“‘See ’ere, boss,’ the words now poured out of his mouth in a rapid stream, ‘I’ll tell you the truth, I will, swelp me Gawd. Listen to me.’”

As a lifelong Londoner I can assure you this is *exactly* how we sound, swelp me Gawd.  Thankfully Croft soon abandons attempts at depicting the lower orders loquaciousness:

“Palmer’s statement, divested of its cockney slang and picturesque embellishments was as follows:—”

The Cask is a good, solid mystery. The puzzle is set up and we follow the police as they piece together what happened, step by step. If that makes it sound boring, it really isn’t. All the clues seem to point to one suspect but like the police, we’re really not sure he did it. I enjoyed this as an undemanding read but one that sustained my interest and attention, which is praise indeed at the moment, as I have the attention span of a particularly distractible goldfish.

To end, if there’s one thing associated with the 1920s, it’s the flapper. Here’s a clip from the 1920 silent film of that name, the whole of which is available to view on YouTube, and from this trailer looks quite fun:

 

24 thoughts on ““You are a lost generation.” (Gertrude Stein to Ernest Hemingway, 1920)

    • Thanks Simon! I’m excited to get to book four. There’s something to be said for just doing something extremely well and not being inventive just for the sake of it. And it adds to the comfort element as a reader, if you feel you know what you’re getting and are looking forward to sinking back into a familiar world.

      Like

  1. I loved Mapp and Lucia (and did have a few laugh out loud moments). I read the first book and then came across the second on CD at my library (I guess the CD format fits the demographic…of the audience and my library) – it was brilliantly narrated and I think the plummy accents added to my enjoyment of the story.

    Very jealous of your lovely boxed set…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice to see you back on here, madame bibi. Queen Lucia sounds marvellous, prefect comfort reading for the current times. I read the 4th book in the series, Mapp & Lucia, last year when I was recovering from a fracture. Pure unalloyed pleasure – the book, obviously, not the fracture!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Jacqui, it’s nice to be back and I am going to try and post more regularly, fingers crossed…

      I can see M&L would be perfect reading for when you’re in recovery. It’s a great comfort read. I hope you’re fully healed now, what a miserable thing to happen.

      Like

  3. First off, I’m jealous of your boxed set of Mapp and Lucias – I had all six in that edition (though not in boxes) at one time and they were lovely (although had very spoilery covers later on). My feeling is that the books get funnier as they go on, and by the time Mapp arrives they really take off. And well done on finding the Freeman Wills Crofts – I love his Inspector French mysteries, but I haven’t read this title or detective. So glad you could join in with 1920! 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • They’re really nice editions, I’m hoping I can find the next three in the same. It’s a pity they have spoilery covers though. I’ve heard they get funnier as they go along so I’m looking forward to reading the rest!

      Freeman Wills Croft certainly got off to a strong start with this one, and I’ve a feeling I might have some Inspector French buried in the TBR somewhere…

      I’m so glad I could join in and thanks so much to you and Simon for hosting, Kaggsy!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The part you quote: “the real object of those excursions was to see what everybody else was doing, and learn what fresh interests had sprung up like mushrooms during the night” makes me think about getting on social media first thing in the morning.
    I’m kind of amused that you seem to think of a “whole day” of travel as a long time. It’s taken me that long to drive across one state (Texas), back when we could go places.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, it is like social media, I hadn’t thought of that but you’re so right!

      I think of a whole day as a long time to get to Paris – now we just jump on one train and we’re there in a few hours (back when we could do such things…)

      Like

  5. I read a Lucia a long time ago and I remember I enjoyed it and had fun.

    I’d love to read the second one and you’ll know that there are maps in The Mysterious Affair At Styles too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks Ali. It certainly sounds like 4 onwards are where the series hits its heights. I’m looking forward to getting to those books! I really enjoyed The Cask, it was a good year for GA detectives for sure.

      Like

  6. Fabulous swoon in that video! I miss the days when ladies swooned at the drop of a hat. We’re so… upright… these days! 😉 You did much better than me with Queen Lucia – I’m afraid the Indian guru portrayal forced me to jump ship. I suspect it may have been because I was listenting to the audiobbok, and the narrator managed to make it sound even more racist than the written version. I’m looking forward to reading The Cask sometime, though – one of the books on Martin Edwards’ list of 100 Classic Crime Books…

    Liked by 1 person

    • We are aren’t we? And we seem much less susceptible to catching chills too 😀

      I can totally see how the audio version of the guru would be unbearable. I hadn’t thought if that but of course I read him in my voice. It could be I’m giving Benson too much benefit of the doubt, but I really thought it was a deliberately stereotypical portrayal to satirise the ignorance of Lucia and her friends.

      I hope you like The Cask FF. It could be that once my brain’s back in gear I’d want something less straightforward and procedural, but right now it was just the ticket!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: “No live organism can continue for long to exist sanely under conditions of absolute reality.” (Shirley Jackson) | madame bibi lophile recommends

  8. Pingback: “Light tomorrow with today!” (Elizabeth Barrett Browning) | madame bibi lophile recommends

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.